What Car? crowns BMW five Series Car of the Year 2017

What Car? crowns BMW five Series Car of the Year 2017

What Car? has announced the fresh BMW five Series as its Car of the Year for two thousand seventeen at the 40th annual What Car? Awards, held this week at the Grosvenor House Hotel on London`s Park Lane.

The five Series fended off stiff competition from Mercedes-Benz and Rolls-Royce to win the Luxury Car of the Year Award, before it hammer all category winners to be named Car of the Year 2017.

The latest five Series is even more efficient than its predecessor and sets the class standard for treating and refinement, while its interior provides technology and a sense of luxury usually reserved for far more expensive machinery.

Other newcomers also made a big impression on the judges, particularly in the SUV sector. The fresh Seat Ateca took the Petite SUV of the Year prize and the Skoda Kodiaq won Large SUV of the Year.

The Car of the Year Award announcement goes after a significant twelve months for Haymarket’s automotive portfolio. What Car? has launched a fresh website and online car buying service, while last summer its sister title, Autocar, named the top one hundred women in the British automotive industry for the very first time.

At the What Car? Awards, BMW Brand Senior Vice-President Hildegard Wortmann collected the top accolade. Wortmann commented: “For the BMW five Series to win the prestigious ‘Car of the Year` award is an honour and testament to the hard work that goes into producing one of BMW`s core models.

“The BMW five Series is a brand-shaping saloon and in times of rapid switch within the automotive industry we believe the seventh generation model points the way into the future. It is a truly outstanding car and I am very grateful to What Car? for this superb recognition.”

What Car? Editor Steve Huntingford said: “The BMW five Series is no stranger to success at the What Car? Awards; it`s something of a dynasty that has always stood for excellence, but the latest model moves things on again in all the areas that matter most to buyers.

“While the five Series is a tour de force, tho’, the list of category winners demonstrates that an outstanding car has never been more accessible. For those looking to switch their car in 2017, they need look no further than the What Car? Car of the Year winners.”

Championing manufacturers who have made progress in safety and technology, the Safety Award was awarded to the to the Toyota Prius, while the Peugeot three thousand eight was awarded the Technology prize, sponsored by Nexcel, for its i-Cockpit interior layout.

Putting the vote to What Car? readers, the Honda Civic Type R was named the most arousing car due to be launched in two thousand seventeen in the Reader Award category.

For further information on this story, please contact Anna Templeton, Communications Manager ([email protected] or +44 (0) twenty 8267 5824).

Haymarket community guidelines

Our aim is to ensure www.haymarket.com is inclusive and safe for all users. You acknowledge and agree that any comments left on our website are done at your own discretion and risk. Any comments, opinions or facts left on www.haymarket.com are the utter responsibility of the author.

Haymarket Media Group reserves the right to edit, crop, turn down to publish or delete inappropriate content at our foot discretion, at any time.

Related movie:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *